Skip to content

Panic attacks

November 4, 2014

For the past week I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night having a full fledged panic attack. This is specifically centered around the fact that I can’t breathe at all due to pregnancy rhinitis and it sucks, bad. The inside of my nose is so incredibly swollen that I am at a total loss on what I can do to make it better.
As soon as I lay down it just closes completely and then, when I can’t breathe, I wake up with a startle and start to panic and then the panic attack occurs because I know there’s nothing I can do to “fix” the problem.

I started having panic attacks about a year after K was born & have averaged about one a month. I was doing pretty good managing them with Ati.van but of course I can’t take that right now. Nor will my OB let me take allegra which is generally helpful compared to Zyrtec that I’m currently taking.

Nothing helps the breathing issues. I’ve tried neti pots, saline rinses, Vaseline, humidifiers. I’ve even mandated that we can’t turn on the heat in our home (it’s been down into the 30’s at night and my husband is about to kill me because of this) as the heat makes the stuffiness worse.

I’ve talked to my OB about this problem before but I can’t keep on loosing hours and hours of sleep because of this problem. I’m calling today. Something has to give.

Why is this pregnancy so much harder than the last? I feel like a miserable complaining walking mess and I don’t like who I’ve become.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2014 11:08 am

    That sounds miserable 😦 I hope the doctor can finally give you something to help. My coworker had rhinitis throughout all of her pregnancies and was very uncomfortable.

  2. November 4, 2014 1:53 pm

    Ugh. Breathe Right strips reportedly helped one of my neighbors but I don’t know how serious her issue was. Pregnancy sleep is crap anyway, you don’t need this on top.

  3. Jen permalink
    November 4, 2014 2:26 pm

    Have you put Vicks under your nose at bedtime? I had really bad rhinitis with both pregnancies, so I did a Neti pot before bed every night, then slathered myself in Vicks!! Good luck

  4. November 4, 2014 10:10 pm

    That sounds awful. Will the doctor allow you to try those breathing strips that you place over your nose? I’m not entirely sure how they work, but I know someone who uses them because he can’t breathe at night.

  5. November 4, 2014 10:39 pm

    Sounds miserable! I hope you are able to find a solution to be able to get some sleep.

Leave a Reply

